L.I. Media Task Force – Alternatives to Mainstream Media

* Asterisk indicates favorites

Newsletter Subscriptions

AlterNet – http://www.alternet.org/

Axios – www.axios.com/ All of us left cool, safe jobs to start a new company with this shared belief: Media is broken — and too often a scam.

The American Prospect – http://prospect.org

BBC – http://www.bbc.co.uk/

The Brad Blog – http://bradblog.com/

*Buzzflash/ Truth-out – http://www.truth-out.org/buzzflash/

* Campaign for America’s Future – http://ourfuture.org/ (& www.populistmajority.org )

part of People’s Action, https://peoplesaction.org/

* Common Dreams – http://www.commondreams.org/

Counter Punch – http://www.counterpunch.org

Crooks and Liars – http://crooksandliars.com

Daily Kos – http://www.dailykos.com/

* The Guardian – http://www.theguardian.com/us

Jim Hightower “The Lowdown” – http://www.hightowerlowdown.org

Huffington Post –http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ notably: Arthur Delaney

The Intercept https://theintercept.com/ Glenn Greenwald, Lee Fang

* In These Times – http://inthesetimes.com/

Marc Crispin Miller – http://markcrispinmiller.com/

Mother Jones – http://www.motherjones.com/ Izzy Award for best independent media

Moyers & Company – http://billmoyers.com/

The Nation – http://www.thenation.com/

Nation of Change – http://www.nationofchange.org/

The New Republic – https://newrepublic.com

ProPublica –http://www.propublica.org/ Journalism in the public interest

The Raw Story – http://rawstory.com/

* Reader Supported News – http://readersupportednews.org/

Real Clear Politics – http://www.realclearpolitics.com/

*Ring of Fire – http://ringoffireradio.com/ Mike Papantonio, Bobby Kennedy, Sam Seder

Salon – http://www.salon.com/

Slate – http://www.slate.com/

Splinter News – https://splinternews.com

Talking Points Memo – http://talkingpointsmemo.com/

ThinkProgress – http://thinkprogress.org/

* Thom Hartmann Show – http://www.thomhartmann.com/ M-F, Noon-3 Livestream also Youtube

The Big Picture – https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBigPictureRT

And on Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/thomhartmann

Truthdig – http://www.truthdig.com/

Truthout – http://www.truth-out.org/

Media Watchdogs

* FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting – http://fair.org/ Media critique/Journalism (based in NYC)

Free Press – www.freepress.net

Electronic Frontier Foundation – https://www.eff.org

Center for Media Justice – http://centerformediajustice.org

Open Media Int’l – https://openmedia.org & in Canada https://openmedia.ca

Common Cause, Media & Democracy Division – http://www.commoncause.org

Media Matters – http://mediamatters.org/video/

Project Censored (Sonoma State University sociology dept) – http://www.projectcensored.org/

Media Action Center – http://www.mediaactioncenter.net Sue Wilson

Park Center for Independent Media – https://www.ithaca.edu/rhp/independentmedia/ Jeff Cohen

Video News

*Democracy Now – http://www.democracynow.org/ Amy Goodman

*Free Speech TV – www.freespeech.org/

The Young Turks – http://www.tytnetwork.com Cenk Uygur

Robert Reich animated videos “Inequality Media” – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gON68n8ko0

News with Ed Schultz – https://www.rt.com/shows/news-with-ed-schultz/

Bill Press, Stream TV & Radio Show, M-F, 6-9am – http://www.youtube.com/user/TawkrTV/

– on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLh5JCUcKAlsMuJRG0Sc8FUKcBx9onvR4m

– and on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/bpshow

Rising Up with Sonali – www.freespeech.org/tags/rising-sonali

The David Pakman Show – https://www.davidpakman.com/

Radio News / Audio Podcast

Note: many programs are moving to Patreon.com. Worth subscribing to.

*The Hartmann Report podcast – Free 1-hr ‘best of daily 3-hr radio show, on ITunes

*Counterspin F.A.I.R. – WBAI 99.5 NYC 6:30pm/ Podcast: http://nuarchive.wbai.org/pa_rss.php?id=cspin

*Project Censored – WBAI 99.5 NYC 5am Tuesdays/ Stream: https://www.wbai.org/program.php?program=171

9am Tuesday rebroadcast: https://tunein.com/radio/Project-Censored-p258326/

(Moving to Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/projectcensored)

*On the Media – WNYC 93.9 Sat 7am, Sun 10am Podcast: http://www.wnyc.org/otm-podcast/ -or- http://www.wnyc.org/shows/otm/

WSHU (NPR affiliate) – 91.3 (Mid-Island) & 91.1 (No Shore) News bureau on L.I.

Sirius XM – Progressive Talk channel

Fresh Air – Terry Gross WNYC 93.9 M-F 3pm – http://www.npr.org/podcasts/381444908/fresh-air

Marc Maron “WTF” podcast – http://www.wtfpod.com

Ring of Fire podcast – https://ringoffire.fans.fm/

Long Island

L.I. Business Report – broadcast on WLIW (PBS), Ch31, Wed, 6:30pm

NY NOW – WNET (PBS) Ch 13 – NY State news http://www.pbs.org/show/new-york-now/ also http://nynow.wmht.org/home/

L.I. Business News – http://libn.com/

The Island Now – http://theislandnow.com/ Online compilation of Blank Slate Media’s news sites

Anton News – http://antonnews.com Links to Local print papers in Nassau County

There’s more…

Hear Yourself Think “Fighting Fake News & Propaganda to Save Democrary” – https://hearyourselfthink.org

The Center for Public Integrity – https://www.publicintegrity.org

Consortium News – https://consortiumnews.com Independent Investigative Journalism since 1995

The Real News – https://www.revealnews.org The Center for Investigative Reporting

Mint Press News – https://www.mintpressnews.com Recruiting for ‘Mint Press News Citizen Activism’

Newsbud – https://www.newsbud.com Sibel Edmund (her story in film ‘Shadows of Liberty’)

Reason – http://reason.com

Who What Why – http://whowhatwhy.org

Bill Press, column: http://thehill.com/opinion/columnists/bill-press/

Brave New Films – http://www.bravenewfilms.org

All Sides – https://www.allsides.com separates stories into Left, Center, Right columns

International

Ploughshares Fund – http://www.ploughshares.org Foreign / Int’l News, Joe Cirincione

Fair Observer – https://www.fairobserver.com

Global Research, Canada – http://www.globalresearch.ca

Mainstream News Agencies

Reuters – http://www.reuters.com/

AP – https://apnews.com

Politics

Politico – http://www.politico.com

C-SPANhttps://www.c-span.org

Of Note

* Greg Palast, election fraud/ “Best Democracy Money Can Buy” – http://www.gregpalast.com/

Dan Rather’s “News & Guts” – https://www.facebook.com/newsandguts/

Andy Borowitz, Humor “The Borowitz Report” – http://www.newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report

Upworthy – http://www.upworthy.com Eli Pariser, popular amateur videos

Web of Debt – http://www.webofdebt.com/

Roots Action – http://rootsaction.org

Images of Voices and Hope – http://ivoh.org We believe the media can create positive, meaningful change in the world

Local Futures – http://www.localfutures.org Economics of Happiness