Note: Asterisk indicates favorite.

Newsletter Subscriptions

AlterNet – http://www.alternet.org/ 

Axios – www.axios.com/  All of us left cool, safe jobs to start a new company with this shared belief: Media is broken — and too often a scam.

The American Prospect – http://prospect.org

The Brad Blog – http://bradblog.com/

*Buzzflash/ Truth-out – http://www.truth-out.org/buzzflash/

Campaign for America’s Future – http://ourfuture.org/ (part of People’s Action, https://peoplesaction.org/)

* Common Dreams – http://www.commondreams.org/

Counter Punch – http://www.counterpunch.org

Crooks and Liars – http://crooksandliars.com

Daily Kos – http://www.dailykos.com/ 

* The Guardian – http://www.theguardian.com/us

Jim Hightower “The Lowdown” – http://www.hightowerlowdown.org

Huffington Post –http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ 

The Intercept https://theintercept.com/ 

In These Times – http://inthesetimes.com/ 

Mother Jones – http://www.motherjones.com/   Izzy Award for best independent media

Moyers & Company – http://billmoyers.com/ 

The Nation – http://www.thenation.com/

Nation of Change – http://www.nationofchange.org/

The New Republic – https://newrepublic.com

Op Ed News – https://www.opednews.com/

ProPublica –http://www.propublica.org/  Journalism in the public interest

The Raw Story – http://rawstory.com/ 

Reader Supported News – http://readersupportednews.org/

Real Clear Politics – http://www.realclearpolitics.com/

Ring of Fire – http://ringoffireradio.com/ Mike Papantonio, Bobby Kennedy, Sam Seder

Salon – http://www.salon.com/

Slate – http://www.slate.com/ 

Splinter News – https://splinternews.com

Talking Points Memo – http://talkingpointsmemo.com/ 

ThinkProgress – http://thinkprogress.org/

* Thom Hartmann Show – http://www.thomhartmann.com/ M-F, Noon-3 Livestream

       (articles https://thomhartmann.medium.com/ by subscription)

Vox – https://www.vox.com/

 

Media Watchdogs

* FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting – http://fair.org/ Media critique/Journalism (based in NYC)

      FAIR Media Activist Kit – https://fair.org/take-action-now/media-activism-kit/

*Free Press – www.freepress.net Change the Terms/ Reduce Hate: https://www.changetheterms.org/

Electronic Frontier Foundation – https://www.eff.org

Center for Media Justice – http://centerformediajustice.org

Open Media Int’l – https://openmedia.org  & in Canada https://openmedia.ca

Common Cause, Media & Democracy Division (broadband access, media consolidation, freedom of press) – http://www.commoncause.org 

Media Matters – http://mediamatters.org/video/

Project Censored (Sonoma State U, promotes media literacy) – http://www.projectcensored.org/

Media Action Center – http://www.mediaactioncenter.net / Sue Wilson

Park Center for Independent Media – https://www.ithaca.edu/rhp/independentmedia/  Jeff Cohen

 

News Bubble Resources

Ground News, to see what interest goes to which news – https://ground.news/

Vicariously, to see who gets what news, on Twitter – vicariously.io

Their Tube – https://www.their.tube/

Search engine that does not profile you – https://duckduckgo.com/

Video News

*Democracy Now – http://www.democracynow.org/  Amy Goodman

*Free Speech TV – www.freespeech.org/

Thom Hartmann Show – YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/user/thomhartmann

The Young Turks – http://www.tytnetwork.com Cenk Uygur

Robert Reich animated videos “Inequality Media” – https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=robert+reich

Rising Up with Sonali – www.freespeech.org/tags/rising-sonali

The David Pakman Show – https://www.davidpakman.com/

 

Radio News / Audio Podcast – Note: many programs are moving to Patreon.com.

Thom Hartmann Show – Noon-3pm weekdays, https://www.thomhartmann.com/radio/listen-live

*Counterspin F.A.I.R. podcast – https://fair.org/counterspin-radio/

Michael Moore podcast “Rumble” – https://rumble.media/

Bill Press podcast – https://billpresspods.com/listen-now

*Project Censored podcast – https://www.projectcensored.org/category/the-project-censored-show/              (previously on WBAI https://www.wbai.org/program.php?program=171)

*On the Media, NPR– WNYC 93.9 Sat 7am, Sun 10am   Podcast: http://www.wnyc.org/shows/otm/

NPR affiliates– 91.3 (Mid-Island) & 91.1 (No Shore) News bureau on L.I.

Sirius XM – Progressive Talk channel

Marc Maron “WTF” podcast – http://www.wtfpod.com

Ring of Fire podcast – https://ringoffire.fans.fm/

 

Long Island

L.I. Business Report  – broadcast on WLIW (PBS), Ch21, Wed, 6:30pm

NY NOW – WNET (PBS) Ch 13 – NY State news  http://www.pbs.org/show/new-york-now/  also http://nynow.wmht.org/home/

L.I. Business News – http://libn.com/

The Island Now – http://theislandnow.com/ Online compilation of Blank Slate Media’s news sites

Anton News – http://antonnews.com Links to Local print papers in Nassau County

 

There’s more

Hear Yourself Think – Fighting Fake News & Propaganda to Save Democracy – https://hearyourselfthink.org

The Center for Public Integrity – https://www.publicintegrity.org

Consortium News – https://consortiumnews.com Independent Investigative Journalism since 1995

The Real News – https://www.revealnews.org  The Center for Investigative Reporting

Mint Press News – https://www.mintpressnews.com Recruiting for ‘Mint Press News Citizen Activism’

Newsbud – https://www.newsbud.com  Sibel Edmund (her story in film ‘Shadows of Liberty’)

Reason – http://reason.com

Who What Why – http://whowhatwhy.org

Bill Press, column: http://thehill.com/opinion/columnists/bill-press/

Brave New Films – http://www.bravenewfilms.org

All Sides – https://www.allsides.com   separates stories into Left, Center, Right columns

 

International News

Ploughshares Fund – http://www.ploughshares.org  Foreign / Int’l News, Joe Cirincione

Fair Observer – https://www.fairobserver.com

Global Research, Canada – http://www.globalresearch.ca

BBC – http://www.bbc.co.uk/ 

Mainstream News Agencies

Reuters – http://www.reuters.com/

AP – https://apnews.com

Politics

Politico – http://www.politico.com

C-SPANhttps://www.c-span.org

Of Note

* Greg Palast, election fraud/ “Best Democracy Money Can Buy” – http://www.gregpalast.com/

Dan Rather’s “News & Guts” – https://www.facebook.com/newsandguts/

Andy Borowitz, Humor “The Borowitz Report” – http://www.newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report

Upworthy – http://www.upworthy.com  Eli Pariser, popular amateur videos

Web of Debt – http://www.webofdebt.com/

Roots Action – http://rootsaction.org       

Images of Voices & Hope – http://ivoh.org The media can create positive, meaningful change in the world

Local Futures – http://www.localfutures.org Economics of Happiness